top of page
tianaig

Learning with 8 Habits

I have been training for three weeks in Writing 39A. I have done much writing, reading, listening and thinking so far. There are 8 good habits that I believe are critical to explore the world in this course.


Curiosity

The impulse to explore the world is the most important. This is the power that motivates us to learn. By far, I have listened to a lecture, read ideas and thought of the social issue – gender roles. Now my curiosity on this topic has been evoked, and I feel energetic to dive into it and generate my ideas.

Openness

An open mind is like a huge container of knowledge and thoughts. All kinds of perceptions and ways of thinking are welcomed to this generous container. During the three weeks, I have been receiving new ideas on genders. I wrote a lot of many topics I had never thought of and accepted much helpful advice in discussions. Also, I was happy to see peers’ opinions on same topics. Reading about different views was joyful.

Engagement

Engagement is the most effective catalyst to learning. Being involved and attached promotes people to produce more. I feel engaged in writing, mostly expressing my ideas, though I am not pretty good at writing. As long as I have thoughts, I will pour them out, regardless of the minimum requirement.

Creativity

Creativity makes everyone unique. All those new concepts, approaches and thoughts color the world. During writing, I tried to create different ideas, link the knowledge to live examples and rethink the world.

Persistence

Persistence is the productive force. Success needs not only a beautiful start but also constant efforts following. I kept up with weekly tasks and devoted time to thinking in every writing.

Flexibility

Flexibility is a lubricant in learning process. It determines whether we can deal with instant challenges successfully. In the three-week training, I encountered difficulties when understanding new materials or got stuck in thinking. But I did brainstorm methods and tools to solve them.

Responsibility

No one can escape from their responsibility. It’s like a natural property of humans. You act, you pay. I had to keep an eye on all the criteria and due dates of this course to gain a good GPA. I was responsible for my carelessness.

Metacognition

Reflection promotes future learning. Looking back and introspecting help us to summarize strengths and weaknesses. I have been doing reflection every week: I create this website and post blogs.


Engagement - This is the notes of practice sessions on Connect.


-Tianai

1 Comment


Yun Chen
Yun Chen
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Tianai

Your explanation is different from mines and the only similar one is the metacognition explanation that writing a blog is reflecting on what we have done for the current week and how do we feel about the weekly assignments.

Like
bottom of page